Fourteen RPCS Students Inducted into Cum Laude Society

Fourteen RPCS Students Inducted into Cum Laude Society
Caroline Blatti, Head of Roland Park Country School, is pleased to announce that 14 students in the senior and junior classes were inducted into the school’s chapter of the Cum Laude Society on May 9, 2022, marking the 59th anniversary of Cum Laude at RPCS. Cum Laude member and RPCS alumna, Christine Gummerson, M.D., 2008, delivered the Margareta A. Faissler Lecture at the induction ceremony.
“Each of you will undergo myriad of ‘a-ha!’ moments over the next few years, and it’s okay if those seem to be at odds with one another. That is part of the process,” Chris told the inductees. “Rest assured that you will find your way, and that you cannot be wrong—you can only evolve and grow…You are the common denominator in your journey, and if today is any indication, you have everything it takes to realize your dreams.”

Christine Gummerson, M.D., 2008, delivering the Margareta A. Faissler Lecture

Dr. Abram W. Harris, Director of the Tome School in Port Deposit, Maryland, founded the Cum Laude Society in 1906 to honor scholastic achievement in secondary schools. Since Dr. Harris and his associates believed that chapters should be established only in schools of superior academic quality, the group moved slowly in granting new chapters. In 1963, Roland Park Country School became the first girls’ school in Maryland to establish a chapter of the Cum Laude Society.
The motto of the Society stresses excellence, justice and honor in the broadest sense and students who are elected have demonstrated good character, honor and integrity in all aspects of their school life. In addition to students’ academic achievement, other factors for membership include rigorous academic progress, intellectual curiosity, love of learning and the desire to seek academic challenge.
“Your academic excellence and the honor of induction into Cum Laude which recognizes your achievements also brings with it the responsibility for you to be the voices of inspiration as you continue into your adulthood,” Mrs. Blatti told the inductees. “It is to you that we look for transformational leadership and mentorship. The voice, the leader, the motivator is each one of you who has become a member of The Cum Laude Society.”
The following seniors were inducted into the RPCS chapter of the Cum Laude Society:
  • Catherine Elizabeth Connors 
  • Nysa Bhatt Gandhi
  • Abigail Mackenzie Love
  • Lillian Sophia Milstone
  • Rebecca Clare Mulcahy
  • Drue Catherine Otenasek
  • Ellen Kuikka Salovaara
  • Charlotte Laughlin Wight
The following juniors were inducted:
  • Alison Theresa Ferraro
  • Katherine Mary Guerrerio
  • Erin Reese Hoskins
  • Aylin Gul Metzel
  • Katherine Willow Schnee
  • Ellen Kathleen West
These seniors were inducted last year as juniors:
  • Charlotte Edel Corcoran
  • Emerson Meng Gray
  • Riya Rajesh Jari
  • Isabel Ava DongWan McFarland
  • Anna McGurkin 
  • Garrison Brooke Morrill
  • Olamide Ebunoluwa Oyenusi
  • Caroline Elizabeth Rice

See the pictures from the 2022 ceremony here. Congratulations to all of the inductees and members of the RPCS chapter of the Cum Laude Society!